CJ Hobgood Leads Herbert Smith Freehills to Victory in Fifth SurfAid Cup Margaret River

Tuesday, April 12, 2016

The SurfAid Cup Margaret River, supported by Surfing Western Australia, celebrated its fifth anniversary today at the World Surf League (WSL) Drug Aware Margaret River Pro in clean 4-5ft conditions at Southsides.

The tag-team-style event saw seven teams of four compete for both the Fundraising Cup and Surfing Cup. Over $55,000 was raised, taking the tally over the five years to over $373,000.

All funds raised from the SurfAid Cup Margaret River go towards SurfAid’s Mother and Child programs in remote villages in surfing locations in Indonesia including Nias, the Mentawais Islands, Sumbawa and Sumba.

Team Herbert Smith Freehills (HSF) made history for the second time, winning both the Fundraising and Surfing Cups, back to back, this time with former World Champion (2001) CJ Hobgood.

“What a fun way to raise money for a marvelous charity!” Said HSF Team Captain Tony van Meryk.

"We had a great day surfing in what started as tricky conditions but turned into a great day of surfing with our pro surfer CJ Hobgood. It feels great to take out the Surfing Cup again but we’d like another gun team to win the Fundraising Cup next year as it all goes towards such a great cause.”


Former World Champion CJ Hobgood was the standout surfer of the day at the fifth SurfAid Cup Margaret River, leading team Herbert Smith Freehill to victory.

CJ Hobgood competed for his second time in a SurfAid Cup Margaret River, this time on the winning side as the stand-out surfer of the day.

“The last time I surfed in this a couple of years ago I think we got second, so it’s great to win this time around! I definitely enjoyed it more this time as I was competing on the Championship Tour last time so I was in a better mindset for this one. It’s so good to be able to give back to such a great cause in SurfAid who do amazing work and to be out in the water with all the guys surfing who raised this money is a buzz, it was great fun.”

Herbert Smith Freehill team member Murray Jacob in Heat 1 helping his team through to the finals.

The final was a close affair with Macquarie in close second with surfer Luke Campbell who has been on the winning team two-years-running, Jones Day with Jethro Hedstrom in third and Madfish with Jerome Forrest in fourth.

Head Judge Tom Dickson said was impressed by the level of surfing from all teams throughout the event.

“We had some tough conditions to start with, the swell was never an issue there was just a really strong southerly wind and it was a bit bumpy but the competitors were making the most of it. When that wind died off after that first heat we had pristine conditions with really clean faces that allowed the surfing to go up another level.

The pro surfers did a great job, particularly CJ having the best waves of the event but some of the local guys and the crew down from Perth in the teams were surfing really well and there was a really high standard of surfing throughout the whole event.”


SurfAid CEO Andrew Judge was thrilled with the effort from all of the teams today.

“We’re so fortunate to have had the support from Surfing WA for the past five years to get this event going and be as successful as it is. The WA community has really shown their support for SurfAid, to have raised over $373,000 from this event over the years going to our Mother and Child Health Programs is testament to them and we’re extremely grateful.

Congratulations to Herbert Smith Freehill for taking out the Fundraising and Surfing Cups two years in a row, and well done to all of the teams for a great effort today.”

Team Herbert Smith Freehill took out both the Fundraising and Surfing Cup back-to-back in 2015 and 2016.
(L-R) CJ Hobgood, Rhys Simpson, Murray Jacob, Paul Moss and Tony van Merwyk.

Final Results for Fundraising Cup
Herbert Smith Freehills - $12,439
Macquarie - $9582
Wave Park Group - $8197
Madfish - $8039
Astron Enpoint - $7534
Property Nuts - $5873
Jones Day - $2604


Finals Results:
Herbert Smith Freehills (73.17), Macquarie (62.83), Jones Day (50.27), Madfish (42.47)

Heat 2 Results:
Herbert Smith Freehills (74), Madfish (44.70), Property Nuts (35.33)

Heat 1 Results:
Macquarie (67.30), Jones Day (54.63), Wave Park Group (47.93), Astron Enpoint (40.27)

Thank you to all of our teams and pro surfers!

Surfers: CJ Hobgood, Luke Campbell, Jerome Forrest, Jethro Hedstrom

Herbert Smith Freehills: Tony van Merwyk, Rhys Simpson, Murray Jacob, Paul Moss

Madfish: Mark Gow, Monique Annesley, Phil Christian, Pete Holywell

Property Nuts: Dean Clements, Eddy Castillo, Christian Apostoles, Anthony

Macquarie: James Paul, Daniel Bolt, Jason Black, Paul Bocquet

Wave Park Group: Chad Elton, Rupert Partridge, Adam Lamond, Matt Middleton

Aston Enpoint: Matt Johnston, Matt Jones, Julian Kruger, Dave Bo Ykett

Jones Day: Damon Eastaugh, James Pearse, Tom Maher, Colin Chenu

Photos by Gordon Becker

Posted by SURFAID on Monday, April 11, 2016

Photos by Gordon Becker

The SurfAid Cup Margaret River also featured artwork by Daryn McBride (below)